Current portal location

Website content

Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs)

Check the rules of origin applying to your product at My export


EU OCTs relations:

EU assistance to OCTs:

EU-OCTs trade rules of origin:

The Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs) depend constitutionally on four of the European Union (EU) Member States: Denmark, France, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom. OCT nationals are European citizens.
However, these countries do not form part of the EU territory. Accordingly, they are not directly subject to EU law, but they benefit from associate status conferred on them by the Lisbon Treaty. The aim of this association is principally to contribute to their economic and social development.

Which are the OCTs?
  • Anguilla (UK)
  • Aruba (NL)
  • Bermuda (UK)*
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, Saba (NL) ***
  • British Antarctic Territory (UK)**
  • British Indian Ocean Territory (UK)**
  • British Virgin Islands (UK)
  • Cayman Islands (UK)
  • Curação (NL)***
  • Falkland Islands (UK)
  • French Polynesia (FR)
  • French Southern and Antarctic Territories (FR)**
  • Greenland (DK)
  • Montserrat (UK)
  • New Caledonia and Dependencies (FR)
  • Pitcairn (UK)
  • Saint Barthelemy (FR)****
  • Sint Maarten (NL)***
  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands (UK)**
  • Saint Helena, Ascension Island, Tristan da Cunha (UK)
  • St. Pierre and Miquelon (FR)
  • Turks and Caicos Islands (UK)
  • Wallis and Futuna Islands (FR)

(*) Bermuda applies the new regime since 1/1/2014.

(**) OCTs, without a permanent local population.

(***) Curação, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius were formerly the Netherlands Antilles.

(****) Since 1 January 2012, the French Outermost region, Saint Barthelemy (St. Barth), has changed its status from an outermost region to an OCT following a decision of the European Council.

On 1 January 2014 Mayotte has become an outermost region of the EU, following its status as "département d’outre-mer" since 31 March 2011 and Council decision 2012/419/UE of 11 July 2012 amending the status of Mayotte with regard to the EU.