Current portal location

Website content

EU Customs Union

Check the requirements applying to your product at My export


European Policy: customs

EU customs law

Transit movements electronic map

The EU is a Customs Union - its 28 member countries form a single territory for customs purposes. This means that:

  • no customs duties are paid on goods moving between EU countries
  • all apply a common customs tariff for goods imported from outside the EU
  • goods that have been legally imported can circulate throughout the EU with no further customs checks.

The EU's customs territory includes the territories of the following countries:

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • Croatia
  • Denmark except: Faroe Islands and Greenland
  • Germany except: island of Heligoland and the territory of Büsingen
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain except: Ceuta and Melilla
  • France including: Guadeloupe, French Guyana, Martinique and Reunion Islands and except: New Caledonia, Mayotte, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna Islands, French Polynesia and French Southern and Antarctic Territories
  • Italy except: Livigno and Campione d'Italia and the national waters of Lake Lugano which are between the bank and the political frontier of the area between Ponte Tresa and Porto Ceresio
  • Cyprus except: areas where the Cypriot government does not exercise effective control, where EU law is suspended pending a settlement to the Cyprus problem
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovak Republic
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland including: Channel Islands and the Isle of Man

The following territories (including their territorial waters, inland maritime waters and airspace) are also considered part of the EU's customs territory:

  • the principality of Monaco
  • the United Kingdom Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in Cyprus.